FALL 1974

Head Coach: Al Duhm (first season) **Assistant Coach:** Frank Bucciferro

Captains: Charlie Fajkus, Bill Jones, Scott Meyers

Tiger Record: *16 wins *4 losses *3 ties

All-Conference Players: Charlie Fajkus, Steve Johnson, BeBe Macias

All-State Players: Charlie Fajkus, BeBe Macias

All-American Players: Charlie Fajkus—30 goals scored, 28 assists, 88 points

Sectional Final

➤ Wheaton Central Tigers defeat Wheaton Warrenville Wolverines in the final

Sub-Sectional

> Tigers win

IHSA State Final

- ➤ Tigers beat #1 ranked Lyons Township in the Quarterfinal
- > Tigers beat the city champion, Senn
- ➤ Tigers are defeated 0-1 by New Trier West in the fourth overtime period

Highlights:

- After only 5 games into the season, the Tigers became the #1 ranked team in the state
- Although injuries had plagued the Tigers, they were to overcome their problems and finish the season with a respectable 11-3-3.
- > Tigers finish *second in state* in only the fourth season of play
- ➤ The #9 jersey worn by two-time All-American Charlie Fajkus is retired

Tiger Tradition: The Triumphs of Charlie Fajkus

During the '73 and '74 seasons, Charles Fajkus had not only made an impact on the game of soccer but his leadership both off and on the field set the standard that many today try and continue to emulate. As a transfer student in his junior year, Charlie went on to score 28 goals and add 28 assists for the Tigers that season. The Tigers had been ranked #1 in the state at the time of their loss to Morton in the sectional final. Charlie would again lead the team in scoring during his senior year with 30 goals and adding 28 assists, while compiling a team record of 16-4-3 and earning a 2nd place finish in State.

Charlie's career is nothing short of spectacular, earning him All-American honors in both his junior and senior year, as well as the records for most goals in a career with 58 and assists with 56 for a total of 172 points. Charlie would then take his soccer genius to the University of Indiana where he scored 38 goals and had 38 assists. He ranks 10th in scoring at IU and in 1978 earned All-Region and All-American honors.

Charlie was then drafted by the Chicago Sting. He played for Chicago from 1979 to 1984 and helped the Sting win the Soccer Bowl Championship in 1981. Additionally, between the years of 1982 through 1985, Charlie received the greatest compliment to a player by being asked to play for the U.S. National Team. In 1984, Charlie was traded to the San Jose Earth Quakes. At the end of '84, he signed with the Kansas City Comets of the MISL, where he would play from 1984 until 1987. Charlie won the Player's Player Award during the 1984-1985 season. The same year, he was selected as the Comets' Offensive Player of the Year. In 1987, Charlie returned to the Chicago Sting and retired the following year. Charles Fajkus played in over 450 professional games, scoring 171 goals. He was inducted into the IHSA Hall of Fame in 1992.

Upon his graduation in 1975, Wheaton Central High School would retire the #9 jersey which had been worn by Charlie during his junior and senior years. The replica jersey will be housed at Wheaton Warrenville South High School. The number 9 will no longer be available at the Varsity level but rather will serve as a reminder of the excellence associated with the player whose passion for the game now rests with the numbers of other Tiger greats here in Grange Field.

In 1992, an award was created to honor a senior player who best represented the program's values of commitment, leadership, and sportsmanship. The honor named the Alumni Award recognized the talents of those whose spirit and ability endorsed the Tiger Tradition.

Honored players include:

- ➤ 1992—Defender Mark Flynn
- ➤ 1993—Keeper Ken Multra
- ➤ 1994—Midfielder Jake DeClute
- ➤ 1995—Forward Eric Brown
- ➤ 1996—Defender Adam Kamm
- ➤ 1997—Defender Chris Divito
- ➤ 1998—Keeper Brian Bell
- ➤ 1999—Midfielder Tim Diehl
- ➤ 2000—Defender Dave Molski
- ➤ 2001—Defender Mike Malik
- ➤ 2002—Forward Matt Galanes
- ➤ 2003—Defender Matt Witt
- ➤ 2004—Forward Alex Mangan
 - 2005---Forward Kevin Briars
 - 2006---Midfielder Greg Maggio
 - 2007---Midfielder Scott Larson
 - ---Forward Eric Shrigley
 - 2008---Midfielder Nick Fuson
 - 2009---Forward Andrew Bellmer
 - 2010---Defender Nate Fuster
 - 2011---Defender Will Huesing
 - 2012---Forward Max Carey
 - 2013---Defender Joseph Spera
 - 2014---Midfielder Elliot Kettle
 - 2015---Midfielder Anthony Berardi
 - 2016---Defender/Forward Charlie Kerby

At the end of the 2004 campaign the award will again go to a deserving senior and hold the same honor, but the name will change to the Charles Fajkus Award. His effort some 30 years earlier demonstrated an "Eye of the Tiger" hunger for success, relentless in his desire to prepare and compete at the highest of standards.